Notices
View Poll Results: what do you think?
really clean, nice looking Vette....
31.46%
a very different Vette but we'll sure as hell take it.
29.84%
i'll be ordering one soon.......
17.72%
No thank you
20.98%
Voters: 553. You may not vote on this poll

Thoughts on the new corvette?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2019, 06:47 PM
box
Rennlist Member

Received 52 Likes on 36 Posts

Originally Posted by CaymanCrush
Porsche pricing.. for what you get.. I don't think is all that bad. You can certainly spend a lot more money on a much worse car.
I could not agree more, at the end of the day you get what you pay for. The more I play with my 911, the more amazed I am at the engineering and quality of the thing. I am an engineer myself (EE) and I could not have designed the 'magic trick' Targa roof system if my life depended on it. Having owned a Targa where you had a special wrench to remove the top, this thing is just a joy and explains some of the cost of the car. The engine, the chassis and the tranny are just marvels as well. All that plastic? Hello, it's a performance car--weight matters! A lot of guys were grousing over the plastic oil pan as if Porsche did it to be cheap--not at all, in fact, brilliant. But I digress...

I drove a top end Camaro a few years ago as a rental and was literally shocked at how cheap and flimsy the interior was. Now I wonder if, coming off of a Porsche, I'll have the same feeling about the C8. They HAD to cut costs somewhere and their attempts at cheap labor blew up in their faces.

Really cannot wait to drive the C8.
Old 11-08-2019, 08:02 AM
neanicu
Nordschleife Master

Received 350 Likes on 212 Posts

Originally Posted by box