Diesel Cayenne and VW emission issue

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2016, 07:59 PM
Needsdecaf
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 2,581 Likes on 1,604 Posts

Originally Posted by PJ Cayenne
Here I was thinking there were teams of engineers with diesel engines on test benches pouring over lines of code, measuing performance and developing that fix in time to meet Judge Breyers deadline. Only to find out that it's years away and nothing in the interim will be offered. I can only think that a swindle has taken place. Is there any hope for details on Thursday?
I actually believe they were...but they were trying to work on convincing CARB they would be able to develop a fix in the future.

What a fiasco.
Old 12-20-2016, 09:31 PM
PJ Cayenne
Rennlist Member

Received 302 Likes on 182 Posts

Originally Posted by Mallens
Here is my 2 cents.

I have been a licensed Marine Engineer - hold Chief's Engineer's Diesel License and spent the last 25 years sailing on mostly diesel powered container ships, the last 10 years have been sailing C/E. We are highly regulated to say the least. I have worked with CARB and their regulations as my ship sails into the port of Long Beach.

No way they can change the emission of the 3.0L engines without those changes impacting the vehicles in some other way. I have done this throughout my career, especially when dealing with CARB - they won't allow us to change TC, Air coolers, Inj pumps, Inj Nozzles, or alter the governor or another control device that could effect emissions by using non certified (OEM) parts that weren't part of the original design that allowed it to be complaint. If they aren't complaint now, I highly doubt they will be in the future with a 'simple fix'.

Something doesn't sound right with these reports/settlements. How do you have a settlement without it being defined?
Your post confirms my thoughts that this is not an easy fix. You get it.

This is delay tactics, pure and simple.
Old 12-20-2016, 10:15 PM
petery