996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

What did you do to your 996 today?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2020, 08:06 AM
Boff
Racer

Received 227 Likes on 109 Posts

I dug into my first project with my new car after getting it back from the body shop after getting into a fender bender on my first day with it. And of course got some surprises. The passenger headlamp assembly was dead and I found that the male plug had some busted tabs and so no longer was fixed into the mounting plate. Gonna blame that one on the body shop. The ballast was a little corroded but nothing prepared me for the driver side assembly (which still works). The ballast is corroded to **** and the rubber seals are like goo. I’d say there’s a relationship there. So I have some unanticipated work to do, but that’s OK since I bought this car to tinker with. (I’m a completely novice mechanic).

The following users liked this post:
Ratchet1025 (09-21-2020)
Old 09-21-2020, 08:42 AM
Cityfisher
Racer

Received 78 Likes on 54 Posts

Originally Posted by luxdriver
@Cityfisher
The upper cubby I sourced directly from the local dealer for about 40 euros. They had the best price.
The lower cubby I also replaced since my old one was cut up. These are cheap on eBay as much less in demand vs. the upper one.

I think this setup looks decent and more importantly gives much needed space for phone(s), wallet etc., specially on cars without a glovebox like mine. With the Aux cable right there it's the perfect place to drop in the phone.
Thanks! Looks great. I def need a spot for my wallet etc. Cubby be perfect.
Old 09-21-2020, 09:27 AM
dporto
Rennlist Member

Received 1,166 Likes on 796 Posts