Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Did something tonight with the 944 that I never thought I would do with any car

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2006, 09:57 PM
Tom R.
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 104 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Did something tonight with the 944 that I never thought I would do with any car

I've been driving for over 28 years and tonight I did something I thought I would never do. Something I have never done before. Something I go out of my way not to do.

Met my wife, daughter, a neighbor and her two kids at a restaurant tonight. I pulled into the lot at the far end. there were at least two empty spaces on either side.

So an hour later i come out and there is a big new SUV parked next to me. my nose was facing out. This yutz swung the turn into the spot and didnt bother to straighten out the car so if i went straight i may have clipped the rear bumper with my mirror.

That wasnt bad enough. The reality is whoever got out of that car unless a 18" waist could not get out of the car without dinging my car.

granted i was in a 18 year old car, put it is my 18 year old porsche damnit! Granted the paint is not the best, but it is my crappy paint.

I squoze my 33" waist between the two cars and my knee started to tighten up at just the thought of having to squeeze into the narrow opening down below where the seat is. Remember when I came out of the GTO and went into my other 944? My knee still does! That time i smashed it on the A pilar since the car is so much lower, and i got into it like i get into the GTO.

So i look around and notice there are at least three spots on my right that are open, and the row in back of me is practically empty.