PR campaign on Porsche A.G.

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 01:13 AM
maestromaestro
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question PR campaign on Porsche A.G.

Here is what I am thinking and why.

Last year (or so), accelerating from a traffic light, the transmission in my 97 C2 cab got stuck in neutral after I shifted from the 1st down to 2nd (well, attempted). About $3K later, I was informed that the issue was caused by a shift fork that fatigued and cracked, because the $6 pin that fixes it in place had sheared.

Being a materials engineer, I looked at the fracture under the microscope and yep, it was a fatigue failure (if you really want to know). I took some pictures and sent a polite letter to Porsche saying that, you know, even though the car was 13 years old, it only had about 30K miles on it, so sh-t like this should not have happened, what with the German quality and the attendant expectations.

Porsche customer service Directorate responded pretty quickly, and (also politely) pointed out that the car WAS 13 yo, and, therefore, any and all expectations of Porsche stepping in and easing the financial pain are ludicrous. If it were GM, I would have understood, but - it is, after all, Dr.Ing. Porsche product, and I somehow expected better.

So, this is what I am wondering - in this day of modern Internets, is it possible to apply pressure on them? I know that, say, justifiably disparaging comments on Facebook or Yelp tend to bring (some) results from retailers or restauranteurs. I honestly think that this kind of failure is something of an outlier (again, 30K miles!!) - and the replacement part (for the failed fork) actually looks different (without analyzing the alloys, I suspect that Porsche improved the design to increase the material "longevity" and reduce the susceptibility to cracking).

Any thoughts as to whether this (the PR pressure) is doable? Too lunatic?
Old 11-26-2011, 01:40 AM
ChaseN
Three Wheelin'

???

LOL