Sponsored by:

964 Prices

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2022, 08:36 AM
cobalt
Rennlist Member

Received 2,200 Likes on 1,312 Posts

Originally Posted by Ecosse911
There are more shill comments and bids these days. This one had a couple of unsubstantiated claims but not as bad as some other recent auctions. I like BaT however it’s not as transparent anymore and buyers need to do their diligence.

In terms of car condition unless it’s a really obvious repair (panel gaps) it’s not so easy to tell from auction pics. I am no expert like you but I have started delving into my first 964. All the under body panels, liners and other stuff are pretty good at obscuring what may lie beneath. I almost piped up in the comments but decided to stay quiet but agree that there is likely more to the story than a refresh respray.
After spending well over a decade looking over pictures for potential buyers and in some cases sellers I have gotten pretty good at picking up on things. In some cases pictures allow me to dwell and zoom in on areas that I might not pick up on in person. I do find that 90% of my suspicions have proven to be true. It took me a long time to become so in tune with these cars and I still learn something new each day. Everytime I learn something new I find my eye pics up on these nuances even more than before.

I agree most commenters have no clue about these cars and I love the last minute google search on production info which is always incorrect.

I believe we are starting to see what we did back in the 80's grey market. Buyers are becoming more educated and realise that some cars are worth the premium and others are just metal. I see very few good examples but they are out there. Just keep looking and they eventually show up just be prepared to pounce if you are shopping.
The following 4 users liked this post by cobalt:
darylbowden (06-02-2022), L39E (06-02-2022), mark lintott (06-17-2022), mgordon18 (06-06-2022)
Old 06-02-2022, 09:36 AM
s65e90
Race Car