Sponsored by:

ASK THE COACH

Old 05-13-2017, 10:56 AM
Thundermoose
Burning Brakes

Received 103 Likes on 72 Posts

Originally Posted by Olemiss540
Mike,

I am no procoach, barely a decent driver in fact but in my e36, once you lose the tail neutral throttle and counter steer should correct into a drift that will quickly catch. Once you reapplied the throttle under steering input, I believe you upset an already upset situation. Transferring weight to the rear helps in a controlled overseer or when you lose the rear end of a 911 (apparently), but an e36 is very temperamental with pedal application under loss of traction conditions.

When something starts to happen in my e36, neutral pedals to maintain balance and try to fix with the wheel or atleast attempt to steer it to safety.
good insight. I wasn't paying enough attention to his feet once he lost traction.
Old 05-13-2017, 11:24 AM
Veloce Raptor
Rennlist Member

Received 1,395 Likes on 744 Posts

Yep I manually down shift PDK cars on track for this reason

Last edited by Veloce Raptor; 05-13-2017 at 11:45 AM.
Old 05-13-2017, 01:43 PM
onefastviking
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

No doubt of the lift playing a part of it, but there could be another issue in play here. You do have a LSD correct ? What type is it ? When was it rebuilt last ? Have you checked it ?
Let me know, I'm not on here quite as much anymore so feel free to email me if any questions or thoughts.

Onefastviking

Originally Posted by TXE36
I had a mishap on Sunday that could have ended very badly. In my studying of the video and asking local experts I've come to the conclusion that I was too slow in applying countersteer. My question is what to do with my feet.

Picture the car loaded up in a turn. The rear end starts coming around. I assume lifting is bad, but what if the rear tires light up? Even if lit up, is more gas better, theorizing that more weight back there may help?