Looking to take up autocross

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2008, 09:09 PM
Mark Dreyer
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 660 Likes on 355 Posts
Default Looking to take up autocross

I've been doing DE's for about 3 yrs now and had a major incident last weekend at Sebring. I totaled my track car. Thanks to the 6 point harness system I only sustained a minor neck injury and am 100% better after only a few days. In light of the experience of seeing a concrete barrier coming at me head on at 50+ mph, I have decided to put DE's on hold for now and am looking to do some autocross.

My question is would my VW Jetta TDI be ok to get my feet wet and make sure I like it sufficiently to invest in another fun car? Also, what would be on your short list of P-cars to buy as an autocross vehicle?

BTW, for any that don't frequent the Racing/DE forum and are interested in my Sebring experience, you can go here:

https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/446300-crashed-at-sebring-need-a-new-hobby.html
Old 08-07-2008, 11:27 PM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Sorry about the loss of your M3 (I have one as a DD).

SCCA has an autocross class for every car, and many other car clubs also use the SCCA classifications. I think all stock VW diesel models run in H Stock. If your car is somewhat beyond stock, it would be in F Street Prepared.

Time on course and average speed will both be down considerably from tracking, but autocross runs are intense, where precision is rewarded.
Old 08-08-2008, 02:02 AM
multi21
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3,272 Likes on 1,931 Posts

Mark DE is a place for driving at 8/10s. In an autox you can drive 10/10s. Look into various clubs in your area and see what type of venue they use. Obviously the bigger the better. I prefer PCA and BMW because you get about 3-4 times as many laps as you would in SCCA.
Old 08-08-2008, 12:06 PM
85Gold
Rennlist Member

Received 798 Likes on 454 Posts