Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are dealers unwilling to negotiate or do I suck as a negotiator?

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2012, 02:45 AM
hakaida702
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are dealers unwilling to negotiate or do I suck as a negotiator?

I've inquired about a few cars that I have interest in and all will only drop their asking price by $1,500 to $2,000 max and refuse to budge further. All of these cars are in the 85 to 95k price range. I've told all thanks, but no thanks. I wasn't looking for 10k off, but I thought 5k would be possible. I guess either sales are going well for these dealers where they aren't willing to work with me further or I'm not good at dealing with them. If they are going to basically tell me to pound sand on further price reductions, I'm going to tell them to pound sand on their offer. I can wait 6 months to a year if I have to and by then a GTS might be in my price range.

Any tips?
Old 07-07-2012, 03:12 AM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 127 Likes on 67 Posts

If you're willing to walk away from a deal, and they don't stop you from going out the door, then they're obviously serious about the asking price. I don't know what else you can do for leverage.

5-6% off on a $90-100K car should be very doable; I did a little better than that on my new special order '09 Carrera S. Maybe the market in Vegas is particularly firm right now. I don't think it's you.....
Old 07-07-2012, 03:19 AM
hakaida702
Racer