PDK Responsiveness in 09 Targa 4S

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2018, 09:44 PM
Orioles17
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PDK Responsiveness in 09 Targa 4S

Hi all,
I'm a new Porsche owner and have only driven my 2009 Targa 4S a couple times since I took delivery a couple weeks ago - certainly not enough time to get a true feel for the car, but now that the winter tires are on, I plan on having a lot more driving time. I've been driving a 2015 VW GTI for the past three years and really thought it was a terrific car. Very quick, light, and lots of fun. I'm used to driving the VW in normal or sports mode with or without the paddle shifter. When I'm driving up a hill, the computer knows to drop down to a lower gear for extra power if I depress the accelerator. For the Porsche, in normal driving mode the car seems to get to 6th gear and hold it, even up a hill unless I use the paddle shifters or switch into sports mode. However, with sports mode computer hovers around 3rd/4th gear, even when stuck behind other cars at a steady 40 mph. It feels a little wrong to be driving a Porsche that feels like it's lumbering under heavy weight because of the automatic the gear selection.