Sponsored by:

Engine and Transmission Rebuild Specs

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 10:40 AM
sandersd
Pro

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Engine and Transmission Rebuild Specs

Please correct me if I'm wrong: the only place to find engine and transmission rebuild procedures and specifications is the official Porsche Factory Workshop Manuals - the ones that cost $2000?

I have a subscription to ALLDATAdiy but I have no way of comparing the info offered there to the official workshop manuals and know if they contain the same data. They have torque values and assembly procedures but I can't find any of the clearances for the bearings, etc.

Any help or direction is appreciated.
Old 06-11-2013, 12:21 PM
KrazyK
Drifting

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

For some unknown reason the specs are more top secret than NSA files. Jake Raby has these and from what I heard will be including them in his book.

I have several of the service manuals but I dont think the bearing clearances are in there. Give me a little and I will check.
Old 06-11-2013, 01:11 PM
sandersd
Pro

They have to be available somewhere, else how are all these folks rebuilding engines, machining parts, checking wear and clearances, etc?
Old 06-11-2013, 01:17 PM
joshtownsend
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

maybe you can get them from Edward Snowden?? haha on clearances, if you have built motors before, esp race motors, you know that the book don't really mean anything.. go on feel for just about everything. Loose is fast..to loose is someones problem..ha ha
Old 06-11-2013, 01:47 PM
sandersd
Pro

Originally Posted by joshtownsend
haha on clearances, if you have built motors before, esp race motors, you know that the book don't really mean anything.. go on feel for just about everything.
Seriously? Good luck with that...
Old 06-11-2013, 02:02 PM
joshtownsend
Banned

Originally Posted by sandersd
Seriously? Good luck with that...