Sponsored by:

wdb's forever targa

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2022, 11:48 AM
wdb
Rennlist Member

Received 1,215 Likes on 661 Posts
Default wdb's forever targa

This will be a thread about my 2002 996 targa. I'm making plans for a long term relationship. I thought I should document it.

I had been hunting for a Porsche for several years. I wanted to find out for myself what all the fuss was about, why they have such a fanatical following, why the values hold up despite there being 10's of thousands built each year. That kind of stuff. I thought long and hard about an air-cooled car but the prices just weren't justifiable to my way of thinking. The 996 was the next obvious place to go if one is just testing the Porsche waters. After all it is still a 911, despite the whole headlight and water-cooled hate directed at it. I really wanted a targa because of the rear hatch, which seemed hugely practical to me -- and it is! Anyway that's how I ended up with this one.

I bought the car more or less by accident on Bring A Trailer in July 2021. I put in my top bid, expecting the car to go up another $4K or $5K; it didn't. I tell people "it followed me home." Here's the BaT listing:

https://bringatrailer.com/listing/20...-911-targa-18/

Here it is arriving at my house for the first time; the seller very graciously drove the car up from VA to PA which was a godsend for me at the time.

As I said, the seller's personal delivery of the car was a godsend at the time, because I was dealing with a nonagenarian parent in the hospital. I was there every day for a month. So naturally that is where I took this shot.

I'll just clif note the rest of the introductory portion of this tale and say that I absolutely fell in love with the car. I adore the size, nimbleness, and eagerness of the car. And it is ridiculously practical! In addition I have recently retired, and so I decided to make a project of it.