Sponsored by:

Ferrous Metal in Oil Filter

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2021, 10:55 PM
ssherman68
Racer

Received 174 Likes on 115 Posts
Default Ferrous Metal in Oil Filter

I just did an oil change after 3,500 miles and 5 months. This is my third change on this car and the last two were completely clean. It's a stock 1999 C2 and I've had it a little over a year.

This time I noticed some small ferrous metal flakes on the filter. The difference this time is I did three 2 day HPDE driving events on the oil. I'm a beginner so I'm sure I wasn't pushing it as hard as someone with more experience would. So I'm wondering if this is a new situation developing or if I may have knocked some debris loose on the track. That or there were some oil starvation events during turns and this is the result. PO replaced the IMSB with an LN dual row about 10K miles ago.

I doubt it's the IMSB. Camshafts? I'll check the deviation with a Durametric in the next few days. Every other time I've checked it's been 0%. I also sent the oil out to Speediagnostix. This will be my second sample to them.

Magnetic drain plug - Burnt oil?

The smudge on the top right is what came off the plug

One of the most populated sections of metal flakes. Look in the creases

Wider view of filter. Again, look in the creases

This is the bulk of the metal I was able to pull off with a magnet
Old 05-24-2021, 11:01 PM
Flat6 Innovations
Former Vendor

Received 2,290 Likes on 902 Posts

What oil were you using on the track? How many miles did the oil have when you went to the track the first time?
I suppose both track days were on this same oil?
The following users liked this post:
Ratchet1025 (05-24-2021)
Old 05-24-2021, 11:37 PM
ssherman68
Racer

Originally Posted by Flat6 Innovations
What oil were you using on the track? How many miles did the oil have when you went to the track the first time?
I suppose both track days were on this same oil?