Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Noob here, looking to gain as much knowledge as possible...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 03:45 PM
2L8IWON
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here, looking to gain as much knowledge as possible...

Hey Guys,

My name is Jesse and I'm a gear head. Currently my drug of choice is the Ford Mustang, I have had a love affair with that car since high school and have owned many. However due to “means” I have denied my love affair with Porsche. When I was in middle school I went to the 24 hours of Daytona and really feel in love with the 911s and slant nose cars. My uncle was so kind as to buy me a Porsche T-Shirt that day. I am approaching retirement from the Navy in the next few years and as a gift I want to reward myself with a 993.

I have chosen the 993 due to its classic looks and sexy hips. I am looking at getting a car in the next year or two, in the interim I would like to learn as much as I can about the cars and what to look for when purchasing. Thus far this forum has been a wealth of information and has pointed me in many good directions to seek that information I’m looking for.

With that I have a ton of questions I was wondering if you could help with;

1.) Is there a master list of acronyms that are used on the board? As a new guy I have been able to decipher most of the commonly used ones (also thanks to my Military background of course) but there are still some that escape me.

2.) Is there a resource that shows what colors the cars came in by year? I am thinking about getting a 95 since it's the year I joined the Navy but like the 97/8 (I think) because of the C2S/C4S being offered those years

3.) When looking at used cars what are the most important things to look for

4.) Of all the trim models what is the best bang for the buck