Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

*&@^@*!!! (aka: Front Caliper mount...)

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 08:49 AM
John D.
Banned

Received 56 Likes on 36 Posts
Default *&@^@*!!! (aka: Front Caliper mount...)

Dang it all...!!! OK - I was replacing my rotors last night on my 993 C4 - and in removing the front caliper, the BOTTOM mount bolt stripped out!! (HUH?? Maybe with heat & time, it welded itself into place??)..

Anyone have this happen and might offer a suggestion?? Anyone have a "fix" (aside from JBWeld and/or racers tape?? ). Do the make oversize bolts? Can I run a bolt all the way through and nut it from the rear? Can I run on the track without brakes?

Anyway - please don't tell me I should replace the knuckle the caliper mounts to - it is a C4..!!

Advice, comments and/or condolences sincerely appreciated..!!

John D.
Old 04-10-2008, 09:06 AM
jcoll1
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

John, I am by no means an expert on repair techniques of this nature but would a system like timesert possibly work? I used it to great success on my 2.7 head stud issues.

I would think that since the bolt is mostly working agianst shear stress that it would be even stronger?

Agian, just my poor attempt to help.
Old 04-10-2008, 09:42 AM
John D.
Banned

Hey Jason!

Not a silly idea at all - in fact - I like an insert idea..! I don't know if they make them in that fine a pitch, but I'm googling it now Also, you are right - it's shear strength, and the current bolt is marked 8.8 (it's sitting on my desk )

Jason - thanks again!!

John
Old 04-10-2008, 09:48 AM
AOW162435
Seared
Rennlist Member

Received 414 Likes on 232 Posts

John,
I agree with Jason. There was just a thread on the 996 board which then referenced similar issues with Boxter hubs. The Timecert method seemed to work just fine.

Thread

Andreas
Old 04-10-2008, 09:50 AM
Bill Verburg
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 536 Likes on 371 Posts

Time for RS uprights
Old 04-10-2008, 10:09 AM
Mike J
Addict