Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this a good price or "too" good a price??

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2009, 02:32 AM
964bx_44
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this a good price or "too" good a price??

Hey all. I am a potential new '89 964 C4 owner but, I am new to the Porsche scene. There is a '89 964 C4 being sold at a dealership near me. Its got 91,000 miles on it but, has been serviced regularly. I went and checked it out and it seemed ok but, I don't know exactly what to look for. The guy is asking $11,995 for it. It seems like a great deal even for the mileage but, I am not sure if I would be getting into something that will only lead to lots of problems. I plan on doing a few maintenance things to it to freshen it up but, don't want to have to drop big for a rebuild or replacement motor so soon. Any advice that can be given will be greatly appreciated.

Hector
Old 01-16-2009, 02:50 AM
tbennett017
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Don't hang yourself from the first tree...

Hector,

Take your time. Don't fall in love with your first 964... There are a lot of them out there, and there is LOTS of information here and elsewhere on how to buy one. Also, the market is a little soft for them now, so there are a few to choose from if you can afford to take your time.

$11,995 just might be a good price, but not knowing what to look for is your major risk point here...

There is a theory (much debated) that every Porsche is a $25,000 car. This can be interpreted that even if you buy one for $11,995, you will end up spending the balance to get it where you want it. I spent a small amount ($14,500) for one with much higher mileage... and I have spent some money on additions... I feel good about my purchase, but your experience may vary.

Here are a few things to do: