Sponsored by:

2024 992 GTS break-in

Search this Thread

Old Today, 09:39 AM
notfastenough
Rennlist Member

Received 65 Likes on 37 Posts
Default 2024 992 GTS break-in

I know this subject has been beaten to death but I also believe that as long as people buy new Porsches that it will continue to come up. I take European delivery next week of a '24 GTS. As an engine builder I have my methods for break-in which for the most part is keeping revs low for the first 30-60 minutes then let the dogs run. This method has served our customers well for 50+ years on street and track motors and has crossed over generations of technical advances in materials. I intend to experiment in real time with my new 911 and put this to the test. Caveat: Since I have not been privy to main bearing/rod bearing clearances and ring gap on new Porsche engines, I'll be playing it by ear and NOSE but it's safe to say I'll drive at least 200 miles before redline shifts. (It's a manual.)

Stay tuned.
Old Today, 10:23 AM
sk911
Rennlist Member

Received 169 Likes on 102 Posts

So, I have some questions...

I see lots of conversations around this issue and as a recent owner of a new "T" find it hard to understand the reluctance to follow the Porsche recommended break-in period for these cars.

I'm not saying people are wrong but is the thought that Porsche engineers that have designed and built millions of engines, don't know what they are talking about when it comes to getting a high-performance engine to last 100-200K miles.

I'm sure these engines can be run to max rpm when brand new but that doesn't mean they should be. When built, each engine is dyno'd to redline and its performance must be within 5% over/under its designated hp, so the likelihood of some catastrophic failure occurring is very small.... but why roll the dice with a new $200k car!
The following users liked this post:
14turbo S (Today)
Old Today, 10:36 AM
notfastenough
Rennlist Member

Default GTS break in