Head gasket questions from the other side

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2009, 12:47 AM
ptuomov
Nordschleife Master

Received 81 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Head gasket questions from the other side

Hi All --

I am a noob from the 928 forum. I am planning a 928 turbo project. I have a question about head gaskets, and since the hp/liter on your side of the RL is decisively higher than at our side, you have more experience with head gaskets.

So the question is, what's the best head gasket to use if one plans to produce high hp/liter using high boost and high peak firing pressures? I am interested both in style and in brand that you would recommend.

Here are some background info on the project:
- open deck and stock aluminium cylinder towers
- about 8.5:1 static compression
- pent roof 4v head
- piston and head combine to a compact combustion chamber
- 20+ psi boost
- air-to-air intercooler
- 7300 redline
- hp/liter in the ranges of those 400hp+ 951s that I see here
- max torque electronically limited to 600 lbf-ft using a boost controller

I figured that with the experience and expertise here, why spend time trying to reinvent the wheel.

Any recommendations for
- gasket type
- gasket brand
- web links or other reading on the topic
would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-26-2009, 01:06 AM
Lorax
The Impaler
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well, I have had good experience with both the cometic MLS and the widefire.

MLS can have the tendency to leak if your surfaces aren't perfect or if installation isn't done properly.

I have run 21+psi on mine with the widefire currently, but I think good tuning has more to do with the life of my headgasket than anything.
Old 05-26-2009, 01:14 AM
xsboost90
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

i run a stock turbo gasket - also good to use nice new stock studs - 21psi so far. True- tuning has more to do w/ the gaskets than the pressure in most cases.
Old 05-26-2009, 01:32 AM
ptuomov