Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Rebuild Noob need advice

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2007, 04:58 PM
Cris Brady
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Engine Rebuild Noob need advice

Hi everyone,

My 89 2.7 motor "done blowned up" at the Summit Point PCA Club Race a few weeks ago in a very spectactular fashion. I bought another 89 with 150K on the motor a week ago and I want to "freshien" up the motor and put it in my racecar while I disect the blown one later.

Now I've never rebuilt a motor before, but I'm not a total newby. I watched and helped others do a rebuild on a couple of 911 motors and I pulled my head last year for a blown head gasket. I've never pulled a 944 motor before but I don't expect that to create any great challenges.

However, my questions are related more to the actual rebuilding effort. I figure I can replace the rod bearings and various seals and items when the motors out and on the stand. Here's the meat of the question: where is the line in rebuilding where a generally compentent backyard mechanic stops and turns it over to a pro? Like when I did my head gasket, I didn't try to shave the head or replace the valves. I did all the monkey work of pulling it all apart, but when it was all out, I shipped it to the local machine shop where they replaced the 3 bent valves, shaved it a bit and gave it back to me a nice, clean and square. Well worth the money.