Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Devil's Advocate on my Cold Air Intake Theory..

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2005, 04:12 PM
Mongo
Official Bay Area Patriot
Fuse 24 Assassin
Rennlist Member

Received 117 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Devil's Advocate on my Cold Air Intake Theory..

If some of you remember since I've been posting on Pelican since the year 2000, I've been hungering for power gains on my old 84. 3 years ago I put the idea to sleep after I had lost 6-7 HP on the dyno with a cone filter and Dynomax straight through muffler, Bursch header and 2.5" piping.

However, something got me thinking last night; what if that straight through setup I was running was too straight through??? I am talking to the point where I was losing exhaust density because of the piping and the cone filter was contributing even more to the loss.

This morning I gave the sound issue a thought. Perhaps it's possible to run a cone filter (NO POWER GAIN, YET NO LOSS) and still maintain the factory 2.25" piping with no catalytic convertor and a factory muffler? I think I'm gonna give it a wack this weekend and see if I feel any loss of power here like I felt on dyno day a couple years ago...

Hmmmm....
Old 02-25-2005, 05:38 PM
Skunk Workz
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bigger,more open pipes and cone filters etc will usually result in a net loss of hp unless you add more gas to the increased amount of air...and an 2.25-inch exhaust is enough until atleast 220-230 hp. Add the gas necessary for maintaining your previous A/F,and a cold air intake cone filter could possiby give you one horse or so... so no enourmous gains just like the Ricers state from their "rear-end-dynos"..
Old 02-25-2005, 06:17 PM
M758
Race Director

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts