Sponsored by:

73 914 First Car

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2012, 04:00 PM
Doug_B_928
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 73 914 First Car

Hi Guys. My first car was (is) a 73 914. Attached pic was taken in 1986. I bought it in 85. I drove it as a summer car from 85-95. It has been parked since 95 and hasn't been started since 2000. It was always garaged/in a shed with a concrete floor but not heated. I know, shame on me, but I had too much other stuff going on. I can't take it just sitting there, but I'm not sure about how to approach getting it back into shape. I don't want to spend a fortune on the car. I'm a newbie mechanic, and have just started doing work on my 79 928. The 914 is stored a couple of hours drive away from my location and I don't have space for it at my house.

I don't have any pics of its current condition, but will take them next time I'm there and post. In terms of known problems, when I last drove the car, when driving on a gravel road dust would bellow in from under the dash. I never had any incident with it, but a previous owner had been hit on the left rear corner. The rear left wheel always had a little wobble to it. I would want to correct that. I also had the fuel pump moved to the front to prevent vapor lock, and that's the only problem I ever had with the car. IIRC, it has a 1.8L. I have the original side mirror and the original wheels. Had the tire with a slow leak pumped up last fall and the tire guy said that, based on the codes on the tires, they were the original tires that came on the car. The still have lots of tread left.

Just wondering if you had any advice on how to approach making the car road worthy again.
Attached Images  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:30 PM
racer
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well.. Not sure I would drive on 30+ year old tires.. I also didn't tire date codes were introduced until the about year 2000 Explorer/Firestone issue but I could be mistaken.