Notices

Traffic violations - Out of Province

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 10:05 PM
george44
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Traffic violations - Out of Province

Hope someone knows for sure on this one: for Out of province traffic violations Ontario has an agreement with the rest of Canada and with NY state and Michigan where all traffic violations are reported and posted on your driver's record including Demerit points. Is there any such agreement with other jurisdictions like the other 48 US states, Mexico, European countries, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Japan, South American countries? thank you

George
Old 03-18-2009, 10:48 PM
justinsrx7
Three Wheelin'

Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts

Q: Does Ontario have reciprocal agreement with other provinces and the U.S. i.e. if I am an Ontario resident but received a speeding ticket in another province/the U.S., will the ticket be reported back to Ontario?

A: All provinces in Canada have reciprocal agreement with Ontario. The following states in the U.S. also have reciprocal agreement with Ontario: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, District of Columbia (41 states).
Old 03-19-2009, 05:47 AM
Zookie
Nordschleife Master

Received 86 Likes on 65 Posts

Originally Posted by justinsrx7
Q: Does Ontario have reciprocal agreement with other provinces and the U.S. i.e. if I am an Ontario resident but received a speeding ticket in another province/the U.S., will the ticket be reported back to Ontario?