Sponsored by:

getting started in Karting

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2003, 05:56 PM
MJR911
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default getting started in Karting

I am currently studying abroad and just got back from some dual engine outdoor karting here in the UK... what a blast and a workout! I have raced formula electric karts indoors before, but would like to do something above the recreational level.

So, I want to do this back home. I have searched the archives and seen a lot of discussion as to the merits of making you a better driver and such, but would like some help in locating a good used kart and the direction I should take.

My primary aim in a kart is to use it as a tool to make me a better road race driver... not to become some national champion or run the karts at our local amsuement park.

What class?
Real road courses vs. dedicated kart tracks?
which kart/classifiieds? Costs

Any advice appreciated, I am in Pa.... outside Philadelphia. Anyone in that region racing karts?

As always, thank you!
Old 10-18-2003, 09:10 PM
pig4bill
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've never run an outdoor kart, but I have buddies with them. IF I were to do it I would:

1. Attend a karting school. They're much cheaper than a car racing school. Ask lots of questions.

2. Rent a couple of different types before I decided. A lot of tracks have "arrive and drive" programs.

As far as "Real road courses vs. dedicated kart tracks", I don't know how things are in PA but out west they do both. If you've read the nsxfiles (hasn't everyone?) you'll notice that fast shifter karts are not particularly cheap to run.
Old 10-19-2003, 01:27 AM
Geo
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've helped a few people get into karting. However, it has been about 8 years since I last raced karts and some of my info may be dated based upon some recent feedback.