Sponsored by:

Cheap trailers

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2010, 01:48 PM
rcarpen22
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cheap trailers

I've been pulling a featherlite for a few years now and I am about to buy an enclosed trailer. I know this has been discussed a lot, but most of the threads I found are fairly outdated. It seems like there are a lot of lesser-known manufacturers out there offering great deals on trailers. I am looking at MTI and Cargo South right now. I would like to hear opinions on these (or other cheap) brands. The MTI trailer I'm looking at has 5,000# torsion axles, electric brakes, internal electrical package, and is all aluminum. It's $8,000 brand new. The Cargo South trailers are steel frame, but have Dexter alxles and offer a lot of nice options and they are even cheaper. It just doesn't seem like you have to pay a lot for a trailer to get a good one. Thoughts?
Old 04-26-2010, 02:05 PM
Gary R.
Rennlist Member

Received 271 Likes on 165 Posts

Find an unfinished aluminum trailer, preferably 24' V-Nose, and you will have a good long-lasting basis to work from. If you can find a used one already outfitted (or not) that's your best bet. Titan seems like it would be marginal towing a fully loaded steel enclosed trailer but you know what it can do better than I..
Old 04-26-2010, 02:08 PM
magnetic1
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There are many more details to a trailer than steel/alum and axle sizing.

If you arent careful, you'll end up w/ a budget landscaping trailer rather than a car carrier :P

Look for how many steel posts there are, dovetail rear section, interiors, etc.
Old 04-26-2010, 02:31 PM
M758
Race Director

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

I have one from team spirit. It is a 24 footer and was their "racer" line. I am the scond owner and have been very happy with it. Basic, but effective and nice price. Good when new and a seal 1 year old. (PO had to get out of racing).

http://www.teamspirittrailers.com/newsite/index.html