SUSPENSION SET UP!?!?! 944

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 07:59 PM
Depape
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SUSPENSION SET UP!?!?! 944

hey guys,
i need some suggestions for Suspension setup, i have an 89 944 turbo and it feels really loose on the track right now...968 sways are on the way,and i want to get upgraded coilovers at all 4 corners. what is the best bang for the buck ??? (money is a pretty big concern, since im a student) so BANG FOR THE BUCK is what im looking for. (not neccesarly the cheapest). can u tell me your setup (spring rates and coil overs)
Old 10-09-2006, 08:25 PM
Depape
Racer

........im going to put this on the "modifications section" but dont know how to delete it.......still would like some answers
Old 10-09-2006, 09:54 PM
Z-man
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

For starters, what driving experience do you have? Track days? Run group? What do you mean by loose? Too much oversteer?

The 968 sways will help - as the rear bar will give you some adjustability. (Set it to soft or medium and work up/down from there).

There are three basic ways of going with 944 setup:

1. Coil overs at all four corners and the removal of the rear torsion bars
2. Coil overs up front, keep torsion bar in the back, and add lighter helper springs in the rear to balance the front to rear.
3. Coil overs up front, bigger rear torsion bar.

If you plan on going into club racing in the stock classes, you can't do option #1, as you need to retain the original suspension components (ie: the rear torsion bars).

What's the best bang for the buck? Depends on how much you wish to spend! JIC Cross suspensions seem to be the hot ticket these days. Bilstein and Leda also make fine systems for our cars. And then there's individual components and such... the sky's the limit in terms of what's out there for our cars.