Sponsored by:

996 for Track Day Events (HPDE)

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2021, 03:57 PM
Pink
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 996 for Track Day Events (HPDE)

I've been doing HPDE for about 10 years but only in BMWs, primarily an e36 M3. There are a good list of thing to do in that car to get it ready for track events. I want to get a 996 for weekend track duty. I'm sure I'll find a lot of information on here, but what specifically does the 996 need (besides IMS) to be a good track day candidate. Here are some things an e36 m3 needs for example as well as some more obvious track day needs for any car.

- Reinforced rear trailing arm, Rear shock mounts, Rear Sway bar and front subframe
- Negative Camber in front
- Welded oil pump nut, Oil Pan Baffle, Dry sump - (Some oil starvation solution for lateral forces)
- Oil Cooler
- Secondary fuel pump to combat fuel starvation
- Brake Cooling ducts/hoses
- Race Brake Pads/High Temp Fluid
- Cooling System upgrades - radiator, water pump, expansion tank etc.
Old 01-17-2021, 08:34 PM
zbomb
Race Car

Received 4,282 Likes on 1,807 Posts

No particular order:

Wheels / Tires
Coilovers
Assure all control arms and bushings in good shape
Brake fluid
Pads / Rotors / lines
GT3 Brake ducts
Roll bar
Seats
Shifter
Weight reduction / noise escalation (stock mufflers)

Keep on top of maintenance, change oil frequently.

That should be a good start.

Many people will talk about the reliability issues inherent in the platform you are choosing, and many will talk about running them on track for years without issue - do your research.
Old 01-18-2021, 09:35 AM
badabing
Rennlist Member

Received 84 Likes on 66 Posts

Withdrawn

Last edited by badabing; 01-20-2021 at 04:48 PM.
Old 01-18-2021, 12:46 PM
BFT3.2
Rennlist Member

Received 111 Likes on 68 Posts