Cayenne Hybrid for Recovering Tesla Driver

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2024, 03:56 PM
carthinker
AutoX

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cayenne Hybrid for Recovering Tesla Driver

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and I've been really enjoying it. I'm looking to buy my first Porsche - but I need some "forum-based", crowd-sourced advice. A former "car guy",I've been driving successive Tesla Model Ss for the last 8 years. Loved the car. But I decided to switch for many reasons: Elon's erratic firing supercharger staff spooked me; a little boredom - I've owned a fair number of cars but never a Porsche; and technology is now catching up with the Tesla - notable the fact that plug-in hybrid range has gotten so large that 90% of my time would be low emissions ( important to me).

I've exhausted the YouTube videos/reviews; Test driven the Cayenne Hybrid; BMW 5 50e; Panamera (gas); and BMW 550e as contenders. ( And a bunch of others I'm not considering). All great cars. I keep coming back to the Cayenne for not specific reason other than I can't quite get it out of my head. A sports SUV would be different than the sedans I've been driving; the Cayenne ride was wonderful. BUT, I'm worried I'll miss the Tesla tech - self driving specifically or that the X5 50e comfort might pull me in. Or that the Panamera is too close to what I'm leaving.

I'd like to get a sense from you folk, who may have more hands-on experience with the hybrid or been where I am. Advice on how to think about this decision or real world aspects of these cars that matter? . Any X5 v Cayenne hybrid thoughts ( I've read a bunch of reviews and watched videos here.) One specific question I've got - because the internet is all over the place. What electric range can I reasonably expect?

Thanks for any insight at all!!!
Old 08-28-2024, 04:28 PM
daveo4porsche
Rennlist Member

Received 3,982 Likes on 1,933 Posts

Originally Posted by carthinker
Hi Everyone,