Sponsored by:

DD: Diesel, GTS, or CTT

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2012, 03:51 PM
tripleblack
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DD: Diesel, GTS, or CTT

Greetings all. Cayenne newbie here - thinking of getting one. Will drive each tomorrow but that's different to living with one. Have cars for track & weekends.
Is the TT overkill for a daily / worth the premium on the GTS?
Is the GTS worth the premium on the S? (The extras/packages look good.)
How's the diesel for all-round driving (dirt, traffic, highway) relative to the GTS & CTT?
Any insight from owners would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Old 12-07-2012, 04:34 PM
grohgreg
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

First and only Porsche I've owned is the new CD. It's owned and operated on a working farm. Street tires aren't the best off road, but the AWD is forgiving. I've pulled a 6000# tractor uphill on wet grass with no difficulty. On road my tractor+trailer pushes the 7700 towing limit, yet - if it wasn't for the rear view mirrors - I wouldn't even know it's there. Regular driving; great performance and handling, excellent fuel economy. I've already seen 34.5 mpg, and I'm a long way from being broken in. With diesels that takes about 35k, but by then I expect this to be a 40 mpg daily driver.

//greg//
Old 12-07-2012, 04:47 PM
steve_Cayenne
Racer

You must get some looks, showing up at a site with your tractor ... in a Porsche!
Old 12-07-2012, 04:50 PM
phojes
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I use a Cayenne Turbo (2013; my first one) as my daily commuter car and I love it. For me, it's not overkill and is worth the premium over the other models.
Old 12-07-2012, 05:02 PM
743CO
Intermediate

Default WoW!!

Quite the question.

The best value is the Diesel. But there is more to driving a Daily Driver than value.

Cheers, JohnnyB
Old 12-07-2012, 05:17 PM
gnat
Nordschleife Master

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts