Sponsored by:

Porsche Canada / Import from US / European Delivery

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 03:34 PM
AK1
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Porsche Canada / Import from US / European Delivery

Hi, newbie here so please excuse any obvious (or non-obvious -)) faux pas.

I am shopping for a 2011 Cayenne or Cayenne S and have identified the following approache. I would appreciate any comments / guidance :

1) Porsche Canada. Up to 6 months wait list according to Vancouver dealer. Unattractive finance / lease rates approx. 7%. Foreign currency credit available. Based on today's rates, credit it would be $2,500 for Cayenne and $5,000 for Cayenne S.

2) Buy in US. As of today, autotrader.com has approx. 28 used vehicles throughout US. I would likely engage a middle person to do the import for me. Have read up on the issues / pitfalls. I understand there are 1 or 2 board members who specialize in this. Savings likely in the $5,000 to $10,000 range vs. Porsche Canada or better if a good deal can be struck south of the border.

3) European delivery via Porsche Canada. We are planning a European vacation for 5 weeks in June / July. Does anyone have any experience doing this via Porsche Canada? From searches on this forum it seems there is actually an additional fee to take European delivery?

4) European delivery via Porsche US. How does the US European delivery program compare to the Canadian program? Is it technically possible for a Canadian to use this program in a US Dealer if it is more financially attractive than the same program in Canada? If possible, I expect I would use the US the program, drive in Europe, take delivery in the US and import to Canada.

Thanks so much for any assistance...
Old 12-28-2010, 07:26 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 128 Likes on 67 Posts