99 Boxster Ticking Tap noise - Page 3 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

99 Boxster Ticking Tap noise

Old 12-21-2018, 03:10 PM
  #31  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Lot of info. Well before I started working on the car I drove home from seller for 2 hrs w CEL on ....drove good maybe a little power loss. CEL wound up being Vario Cam....checked Solenoid had bad resistance ,so I changed it. Long story short I only started getting the misfire codes after I buttoned everything up. So I assuming its something I did. Maybe I'll start with exhaust leak and then simply swap out IRIDIUM plugs for OEM. That's one thing that changed. Any suggestions how to proceed is appreciated. Thanks V
vza is online now  
Old 12-21-2018, 03:56 PM
  #32  
murphyslaw1978
Super User
 
murphyslaw1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,448
Default

So did you ever do a leakdown? Down on power could be a serious problem...
murphyslaw1978 is offline  
Old 12-21-2018, 05:07 PM
  #33  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

No, It's on the ramps and not mean on driving it so I can't bring it anywhere so I have to learn how to do one myself I guess. Have a compressor!! v
vza is online now  
Old 12-21-2018, 06:49 PM
  #34  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,622
Default

Originally Posted by vza View Post
Lot of info. Well before I started working on the car I drove home from seller for 2 hrs w CEL on ....drove good maybe a little power loss. CEL wound up being Vario Cam....checked Solenoid had bad resistance ,so I changed it. Long story short I only started getting the misfire codes after I buttoned everything up. So I assuming its something I did. Maybe I'll start with exhaust leak and then simply swap out IRIDIUM plugs for OEM. That's one thing that changed. Any suggestions how to proceed is appreciated. Thanks V
Well, start by eliminating any exhaust leaks, if any exist.

Or start by swapping out the plugs. I know in one case -- with a Cayman -- the owner used some other plugs that a compatibility chart indicated were suitable replacement for the factory plugs. The engine misfired. The plugs -- he posted a picture -- had the recessed tip. The exposed tip of the Porsche factory plug is intended to run hot at low speeds to keep the plug clean but to run cooler at high speeds to keep the plug from running too hot.

He replaced the plugs with the recessed tip with the correct factory plugs with the extended tip and the misfires went away.

Might be too much to hope for that a plug change will have some miraculous effect on the engine but you have to start somewhere.
Macster is offline  
Old 12-21-2018, 06:55 PM
  #35  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Yeah I think1 I'm gonna go for plug swap 1st....maybe I'll get lucky. NGK BKR 6EK correct? Put it this way...the car wasn't misfiring when I had the original plugs in it! V

Last edited by vza; 12-21-2018 at 07:51 PM.
vza is online now  
Old 12-22-2018, 08:48 PM
  #36  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

OK...more info. Swapped out plugs for OEM, and noticed 1 plug in bank 2 looked as if it were never installed, pristine, leads me to believe no gas or spark is getting to the cylinder(dah... didn't note which cylinder it was,noticed after the fact). Found 2 leaks in the exhaust, 1 where end of cat is clamped to muffler pipe(just need to tighten the clamp) the other is a small hole in the cat right at the O2 sensor seam, Bank 2. Started it up with ruff running at first but sounded ok after a minute...revved a bit and got a misfire/pop sound but no CEL. Checked Code reader and got a P0130 and P0150 pending for the 02 pre cats. Compression test as follows:
Bank 1 145/150/150 starting with Cyl closet to front.
Bank 2 195/195/180 starting with Cyl closet to front. At first I thought this wasn't that bad considering there close relative to the banks. But not too sure. What next?? Thanks V
vza is online now  
Old 12-23-2018, 04:14 AM
  #37  
murphyslaw1978
Super User
 
murphyslaw1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,448
Default

Originally Posted by vza View Post
Compression test:
Bank 1 145/150/150 starting with Cyl closet to front.
Bank 2 195/195/180 starting with Cyl closet to front.V
Bent valves or timing is off. I cannot think of anything else?
murphyslaw1978 is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:22 AM
  #38  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,622
Default

The difference in compression reading can arise as one cranks the engine cylinders tested later are oiled and seal better. If this is indeed the case had you returned to the 1st bank of cylinders tested the compression numbers would have been up.

Even if not the different numbers don't necessarily mean the valves are bent. A leak down test can help you determine what's going on.

A leak down test lets you pressurize each cylinder and you can then listen at the intake and exhaust for sounds of leaking air. Any leaking air is almost certainly coming from a leaking valve and this can be due to a bent valve, or one that is "burned".
Macster is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:40 AM
  #39  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Good ...thanks...I actually did wait about half an hr to test the other bank (had to wait for my girl so she could crank the engine!!) so the engine cooled done by then as well. I also neglected to step on the throttle while doing this would that make a diff? Going to get the new MAF today and see what happens.thanks again.
vza is online now  
Old 12-28-2018, 10:29 PM
  #40  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Well....Got rid of exhaust leaks,Installed new MAF ...no stalls at start up....no misfires on 4-5 or 6 anymore....no o2 codes. NOW I'm getting misfires on 1-2 and 3 which I never got before.Codes are as follows:
P1319
P1313
P1314
P1315
Misfires on 1-2 and 3 Emission relevant. Can I drive to a mechanic or should I flatbed it?? Fuel trim bouncing around Bank 1 -0.8 to -1.6 Bank 2 0.08 to 1.6 that was using Torque Light. Got some other strange Codes with torque light Cam Shaft Pos A plausable BMW. Don't know what the Fuel trim should be....does this mean one bank is rich and the other lean?? Any good indies in Northern Bergen County NJ?? Thanks V
vza is online now  
Old 12-28-2018, 11:29 PM
  #41  
lmnsblu355
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
lmnsblu355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY metro
Posts: 252
Default

Originally Posted by vza View Post
Well....Got rid of exhaust leaks,Installed new MAF ...no stalls at start up....no misfires on 4-5 or 6 anymore....no o2 codes. NOW I'm getting misfires on 1-2 and 3 which I never got before.Codes are as follows:
P1319
P1313
P1314
P1315
Misfires on 1-2 and 3 Emission relevant. Can I drive to a mechanic or should I flatbed it?? Fuel trim bouncing around Bank 1 -0.8 to -1.6 Bank 2 0.08 to 1.6 that was using Torque Light. Got some other strange Codes with torque light Cam Shaft Pos A plausable BMW. Don't know what the Fuel trim should be....does this mean one bank is rich and the other lean?? Any good indies in Northern Bergen County NJ?? Thanks V
GIve Nyol a call at Speedwerks in Nyack. (20 minutes from Bergen County) They build Boxster race cars and service many 986s. 845 512 8770
lmnsblu355 is online now  
Old 12-29-2018, 01:15 AM
  #42  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Will do....thanks..whats the spelling on that name??
vza is online now  
Old 12-29-2018, 01:48 AM
  #43  
lmnsblu355
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
lmnsblu355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY metro
Posts: 252
Default

Nyol. (Pronounced like Nile)
lmnsblu355 is online now  
Old 01-12-2019, 12:47 AM
  #44  
vza
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Default

WOW...I replaced my weak battery. Engine ran good...changed coolant and had to rev to 5000 RPMS to 'burp" the engine.....no CEL....NO CEL... Could it have really been the battery!!!

Does any one know what the fuel trim should be at idle. I'm using Torque Lite and looking at fuel trim for banks 1 and 2 sensor 1.

Mine both read -24% at idle and went toward 0% when revved. Thanks....very happy so far with the outcome ....hope it stays that way. V

    vza is online now  


    Thread Tools
    Search this Thread

    Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

    © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

    We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
     
    • Ask a Question
      Get answers from community experts
    Question Title:
    Description:
    Your question will be posted in: