Notices

Recommendations for New AutoXer?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004 | 07:30 PM
Dave_D
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Question Recommendations for New AutoXer?

Hi all,

What considerations do I need to be aware of before taking my new '99 C2 cab into autocrossing? I have never done this before, outside of the Porsche driving school, where THEY provided the car.

- Extra vehicle protection (bra, etc.)?
- Different oil for higher-rev driving?
- Alternate tires / tire pressure?

As for tuning up, I seem to recall that the '03 Boxter provided to us for autocrossing had a race suspension and sport exhaust, but was otherwise stock. This leads me to believe that my suspension is a logical starting point for upgrades. They used Michelins on everything. My tires are Pirelli Supersports, P265/35.

Any advice is GREATLY appreciated.

Dave
Old 04-05-2004 | 07:38 PM
Dave
Race Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Run your first season stock, there are no "must have" upgrades for the novice. Most upgrades will only slow the learning curve. Later, you can pick the class you want to run in and mod to it, you may decide to stay in the stock class where competition can be the fiercest. Show up with a helmet and a few extra PSI in the tires and have fun.
Old 04-05-2004 | 08:04 PM
M758
Race Director

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Other this is to be prepared for being slow. It happens to all new people to autocross. Having a good attitude about this important. It takes most people 5-10 events before they start getting decient and autocross can take a life time to master.
Old 04-05-2004 | 11:43 PM
rareblack944
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts