Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

To upgrade or to modify ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2015 | 03:19 PM
Jean-marc Rif
Intermediate

Default To upgrade or to modify ?

Hey guys, i'm a newbie to rennlist and I really appreciate what you guys are doing providing insight to both old and new Porsche owners. I bought my 07 TT in 2012 under warranty with barely 11000 km on it. Have driven it for 2+ years now and always serviced it at Porsche center. Now I'm torn between upgrading to a PDK TT or modding my current one which now has 35000 km and is no longer under warranty. For Mods I was thinking europipe stage 1 exhaust, GT2 RS Intercoolers, a softronic flash, new spark plugs, stereo upgrade (pioneer unit with Apple car play, Del Rey customs kit), HRE p101 wheels. Money wise I think the Mods would come up to the same $$ figure as buying a 997.2 TT or TTS. I am inclined to modding for the fun of it, what do you guys think?
Old 02-15-2015 | 03:22 PM
Jean-marc Rif
Intermediate

The Car In GT Silver
Old 02-15-2015 | 03:33 PM
Team Plutonium
Drifting

Some folks here are purist and don't care for modding, others like me can't stop playing with it. So I'd go with nodding your turbo. For starters I'd keep the 977.1 for the Mezger block alone. Almost unlimited modding and power potential. Tranny is the only weak spot, but you can upgrade that as well. And you know your car already, so no surprises. Before modding I'd do a full check of everything including a compression test to make sure everything is healthy, and then start playing. If you have a "new" car itch, and want a PDK car, or switch it up a bit do that. No right or wrong decision here. But if I would have found a low milage turbo with the Mezger engine I would have pulled the trigger on that.
Old 02-15-2015 | 03:38 PM
TT Surgeon
Race Director