Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

GT3 to CUP

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2013, 01:36 PM
Leigh2
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 2 Posts
Default GT3 to CUP

I thought I'd post my thoughts after having made the transition to a cup from a regular street legal GT3. It truly is a slippery slope and I hope this gives you the view from the bottom

I have a lot of track experience starting with racing in the 80's & 90's then founding and being the chief instructor for the BMW schools in Alberta for 15 years. I bought my first 6GT3 right after they appeared in 2004 and immediately took it to the track, it was fabulous and I was hooked (again). Fast forward a few years and a group of us are now travelling all around the US in a 5 car semi trailer going to DE days from VIR to Laguna Seca....we had a ton of fun and met all sorts of RL'ers. I found myself at Laguna Seca only a few seconds off the slower cup times but wearing shorts and a T-Shirt thinking "what's wrong with this picture?". You know better pal you'd better wake up and smell the coffee.

So I sold the GT3 and bought a 7GT3 that had been completely race prepared to the same level as a cup car and chose Miller Motorsport Park as my home track. (no tracks in Alberta where I live) I felt much better wrapped in a fire suit and a full cage and having a fire system and the rest of the safety gear. Driving the car wasn't a lot different than the street GT3.