Sponsored by:

Need some advice regarding my 997.2 GTS

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2016, 07:09 PM
bruinmd
Rennlist Member

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Need some advice regarding my 997.2 GTS

so bear with me my fellow 997 owners..........really need some advice.

I currently own a 2011 997.2 GTS cab/PDK in immaculate condition with only 9957 miles that I'm considering selling/trading in.
The car rides incredibly well and it's seen 1/2 track day where I got a chance to test it out a bit without wearing it out-- hence it has everything stock still.
The only mods are a clear bra instaleed by Porsche and black stone guards along with sides.

I'm a newbie to driving a manual, btw........after all these years, I've made the decision that it's a must for me to learn it well and get comfortable with it, and as such I'm thinking about 'converting' to a 6 speed........ but here's where I need some advice:

I love the look and platform of the 997.2-- and I'm not ready to switch to a 991 7 speed manual, nor am I crazy about the idea of a Boxter, as fun of a car as that may be to drive (and perhaps I need to give more thought to a boxter GTS).

I live in a place where I just haven't driven my GTS very much (in Louisiana), mostly because of our bad roads and the stiffer suspension of the GTS. which is not something I considered/thought through well before I bought the car. I drive mostly on weekends with the top down. If I lived back in California, this wouldn't be nearly the same issue.

Then there's the issue of wanting own a 6 speed for at least 2-3 years before deciding if I want to go back to PDK. As I'm only realizing as newbie manual driver, you can't really appreciate the joys of PDK until you first understand a manual (better late than never, right?).