997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newest you can afford, or fastest?

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2013 | 01:21 AM
nuclearfishin
Burning Brakes

Default Newest you can afford, or fastest?

I've been lurking for awhile and am getting close to pulling the trigger, however I have a question for those of you who recommend buying the newest car you can afford. While I generally agree with this, what about when comparing between two different trim levels, i.e. do I get a newer Carrera, or an "S" model two years older, or for that matter a turbo model two years older than that? As this will be my first P-car and one that I will likely keep for awhile (my S500 is now 13 years old and still runs awesome), I want to make sure I get a car that's going to be fun to drive for many years. Thanks!
Old 02-23-2013 | 01:58 AM
n1gels
Racer

I'm new to P-car ownership but my recommendation is to test drive a few different models. I changed my mind 3 times, working up from a Cayman S, to an older Carrera S to a newer S. They were all great, but test driving them and comparing performance and specifications was essential in narrowing down what I wanted. After I'd figured out what age and specification I wanted, it was simply a matter of waiting for the right car to come on the market. Many P-cars are second or third cars and have lower than average mileage, so mileage is less of an issue, especially if you tend to keep your it for a long time like your S500. More important is how well the car was maintained and treated by its previous owner(s). An older well treated car may be a better bet than a newer one that's been mistreated. Get a DME report and a PPI.

Good luck! They're all fantastic cars. Whatever you get, you're going to love it!
Old 02-23-2013 | 02:02 AM
Lurgee
Intermediate

I would pick a trim first and then buy the newest you can afford of that trim. Most here will agree that the extra money for an "S" is worth it.