Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Akrapovic Exhaust Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2021 | 01:24 PM
orangeblood18
Instructor

Default Akrapovic Exhaust Question

Newbie here with a 2009 4S and Akrapovic exhaust question. Is the Akrapovic cat-back exhaust system worth it over the Fabspeed and Tubi systems? Nearly half the cost but at the end of the day, I want the best HP/flow gain along with the best sound with no drone. I am comparing the complete system replacing all three mufflers. The stock headers/cats will remain Thanks for the help.
The following users liked this post:
BaileyII (08-22-2021)
Old 08-22-2021 | 01:39 PM
Ironman88
Rennlist Member

Couple of things to consider:

1) Horsepower gains will be virtually zero when replacing the stock 997.2 cat back exhaust - so it would be good to go into it with a realistic expectation

2) Everyone has their own concept, expectation, and ultimately opinion of what a "best" sound is. Even if you get sound clips via the internet / YouTube, the quality of what you'll be hearing is not telling.

Making a sizable investment based on others opinions of sound may end up being a very costly dead end for you.

You should seek out other 997.2 owners in your area (via the local PCA chapter perhaps) and ask to see / hear their cars firsthand.

Old 08-22-2021 | 11:17 PM
etom
Three Wheelin'

Okay, what is the deal with horsepower gain or no horsepower gain ("virtually zero," according to Ironman88 in the above post) with replacing catback exhaust components of the 997.2--that is, mainly, for most of us, centre muffler bypasses? Or does just apply to Akrapovic/Tubi?

Anyone survey the numbers? For example, both Fabspeed and Sharkwerks claim 12hp gain with the centre muffler replacements. If true, that's not too bad, given you also get great sound, especially paired with gundo-style mod.
Old 08-22-2021 | 11:21 PM
orangeblood18
Instructor