Sponsored by:

State of 2008 997 - advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2020, 12:18 AM
contentmuffin7
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question State of 2008 997 - advice needed

Hello, this is my first time posting on Rennlist (I hope this is the right forum too). This community has been an amazing resource as I learn more about these cars.
I’m looking to get a used 997 and might have found the right one (color, interior, seats are the right combo). I look forward to joining this community as a 997 owner soon

I wanted some expert advice on the car’s state and what you all think is the overall condition. The car is a 2008 997 S cab with a little over 76k miles. Manual transmission, no accidents. The car looks perfect (both external and interior). I have not seen it in person. The car has had a single owner, always driven in SoCal and stored in a garage. He was an older gentleman that didn’t track it. All services (every 10k miles) were done at the local Porsche dealer. The only major issue it’s had was the current dealer replaced the top’s hydraulics (they were leaking). They mentioned this cost upwards of $2k at an indie shop. I cannot verify this on the Carfax report they've provided though.

Other things that have been changed/fixed (according to the Carfax report) are:
  • Valve cover gasket(s) replaced (at 21k miles)
  • Oil pressure sender/switch replaced (at 29k miles)
  • Battery replaced (at 35k miles)
  • Engine cleaned+Valve cover gasket(s) and Front crankshaft oil seal and Driveshaft seal replaced (at 41k miles)
That’s about it. All other services were standard oil and filter changes and maintenance inspections (all performed at Porsche dealer with 10k miles cadence).