Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What's it take to get a 997 C2S to handle like a GTS?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2018, 08:30 PM
jonnybravo
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What's it take to get a 997 C2S to handle like a GTS?

Hi guys. I'm new to P-cars and just purchased a 07 997.1 C2S. Its already got Ohlins coilovers on it already. What other suspension components would you guys recommend I get to make it handle like a 997 GTS? Also, what alignments specs would you get for 75% track/25% street use?
Old 12-06-2018, 08:44 PM
Vethen
Instructor

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

My understanding is that the gts is a C(2/4)S with options pre-included, only extra things are the widebody and the powerkit which might have been an option too. I believe the gts has sport PASM suspension, or the fixed rate sport dampers. All of which should be optional on a C2S.

Hopefully someone with a gts will chime in soon.
Old 12-06-2018, 08:59 PM
Fined
Three Wheelin'

Received 206 Likes on 140 Posts

I don't doubt you could make any Carrera handle better than a stock GTS. The stock handling of all Carrera is more setup for tame street driving, therefore if you put some thought and work into it I imagine even a base Carrera with modified suspension could have better handling than a stock GTS. But getting it to handle like a car with a slightly wider rear track (44mm) may not be possible. I'm not sure the difference would matter, once you get it dialed in it'll be awesome either way. I believe the GTS comes stock with a slightly thicker sway bars. Besides that and the slight difference in rear track width I can't think of any other suspension that is different from a 997.2 Carrera S. Well PASM is standard, so that will be one difference though OP already has coil overs. GTS that have Sport PASM (which you can also get on a Carrera S) will have an LSD... so that would be one moderately big difference, of course not all GTS have Sport PASM.