Sponsored by:

997.2 Fister Muffler Install DIY

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2018, 06:14 PM
swingwing
Pro

Received 93 Likes on 70 Posts
Default 997.2 Fister Muffler Install DIY

First of all a hat tip to DGrayling for his 997.2 spark plug DIY. I studied his post several times and it has good tips - especially the recommendation of having a half moon 13mm wrench or ratchet. I give this DIY a 2 (of 5) wrench rating. Push it to a 3 if your exhaust fasteners are severely corroded requiring some extra effort to remove. I was going to change spark plugs in conjunction with this job, but could not free the left coil heat shield. I decided to finish this muffler replacement and save plugs for another day.
Secondly, the transaction with FD Motorsports was really smooth, especially the core return. There are several options when ordering, but I went with titanium ceramic coating, fastener kit and core return. Net cost was $766. I drove the car today and think I see a noticeable difference in performance. The engine seems to breath better and sounds great. I plan to do nothing more with the exhaust; for me this is 'jes right!

Mufflers came in large box which you'll save to send back your cores. Lots of packing material inside, so save that. Return UPS label is under Fister's pack slip.

Put car up and remove rear wheels. Remove the bumper support just in front of the muffler. Hint: I think removing the whole rear bumper first would simplify this job.

Left exhaust tip is removed, and preparing to loosen the muffler inlet clamp bolts. When free, slide the clamp outboard up the muffler inlet pipe.

Clamp fasteners on right muffler inlet. Notice the corrosion on them. Be sure to purchase new fastener kit from Fister.

Remove the two 13mm flange nuts on the muffler support.