Notices
996 Turbo Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reduction of the engine rattle that many 996 turbos exibit.

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 08:37 PM
innovator
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Reduction of the engine rattle that many 996 turbos exibit.

I have to say, that one big disappointment I have with my newly acquired 10,000 mile 996 turbo, has been the infamous engine rattle that is deemed normal by those in the know. I absolutley love the car, but I never had a car that sounded like it had a bad timing chain. I have been a European car tech for many years, and while I have never owned a Porsche before, I have worked on many, and pretty much everything else the Germans have to offer.. That being said, I never realized before ownership of the 996 turbo, just how freaking annoying that rattle is. Honestly, I could not live with it, and they all seem to sound this way.

For piece of mind, over the last week, I started a thread here, as many others have, to gain some perspective. I have listened to 7 996 turbos the last week, and they all made this same noise from the same place (under the timing cover), so I am convinced it is typical and there is no need to worry excessively as I did. I've heard many variations from various Porsche techs, on the cause of this rattle.. Some say oil pump drive, chain tensioner, thrust bearing, balance shaft gear lash.. I am not 100 percent sure there is a true lasting mechanical fix for it. I mean, you gotta know what causing it to fix it right? That is, assuming there is anything wrong to begin with, which there is probably not.. The rattle is acceptable to Porsche, and deemed 'normal' , so I figured I would just have to deal with it.