Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying 2002 RUF R Turbo

? Thanks!!!

Last edited by Kerrage; 07-25-2011 at 04:06 PM. Reason: errors
Old 05-17-2010, 11:22 PM
TT Gasman
Drifting

It should not do it all the time, but a little chatter now and then is not uncommon with the Sachs racing clutch.
Old 05-18-2010, 02:38 AM
adam_
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Kerrage
I am told this can be noraml due to the high HP and light weight aluminum flywheel?

I also heard maybe previous owner may have been letting clutch out too late and may have worn the flywheel and that proper driving may smooth it out in time?
Told by the seller?

DO NOT TRUST A WORD THE SELLING DEALER SAYS- they will lead you to believe whatever you need to believe to close the deal.

Get a pre-purchase inspection from an independent mechanic, with a defined set of inspection items.
Old 05-18-2010, 04:31 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 253 Likes on 223 Posts

Hi everyone,

I am new to this site as I am just in the process of buying a 02 R turbot (550 package) with 37 (KMs). after PPI it was noted the car chatters in first and reverse with taking off. I am told this can be noraml due to the high HP and light weight aluminum flywheel? I also heard maybe previous owner may have been letting clutch out too late and may have worn the flywheel and that proper driving may smooth it out in time? Any input from you experts? Thanks!!!
Agree with adam_. To state it another way: Everything a dealer tells you is intended to get you to pay as much for the car as possible and to buy the car right now.

Even stock with the Turbo's HP/torque the clutch needs to be quite robust. If you can find no reason to reject the car you should budget/allow for a clutch job and probably a new flywheel just to be safe and adjust your offer accordingly.