***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp*** - Page 8 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums



996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

***Install aftermarket head unit in MOST car WITHOUT removing factory amp***

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2017, 02:05 PM   #106
texcwa
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
texcwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Jackson, CA
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4gen2 View Post
I convinced myself that this box could not work like a Dension unit to replace the frunk CD changer and keep the original HU/amp in place as I had once hoped. So ... I bought a Transit Blu HF and couldn't be happier. $83 dollar solution (with the antenna adapters on Amazon) and a day under and behind the dash.

FM Modulators have certainly changed since I bought my first one a decade ago. The sound appears as good as the CD player IMO (reduced volume level, but ...) and the integration/operation is well thought out. You even get song title information through the HU/cluster via RDS. HF calling is simple and crystal clear. I had the added bonus of fixing the reception on my HU (the reason I started this endeavor in the first place), as I discovered during the install that the PO had left the antenna connection to the HU dangling behind the dash (probably removed their own Tranzit Blu before selling the car and forgot to plug it in!)



If you want to keep the original HU, this solution is a no-brainer IMO.

Thanks to all who replied to my earlier questions.

Steve

I did a similar approach using the following:
  • Scosche FM-MOD02 Universal Audio Input FM Modulator $36.94
  • Kinivo BTC450 Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit $34.99
  • Metra 40EU30 Antenna Adapters $$14.90
  • Mpow Ground Loop Noise Isolator $9.99 (eliminates any buzz or humming sounds)

Works great and good alternative for those with the MOST system.
texcwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 02:42 PM   #107
a4gen2
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texcwa View Post
I did a similar approach using the following:
  • Scosche FM-MOD02 Universal Audio Input FM Modulator $36.94
  • Kinivo BTC450 Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit $34.99
  • Metra 40EU30 Antenna Adapters $$14.90
  • Mpow Ground Loop Noise Isolator $9.99 (eliminates any buzz or humming sounds)

Works great and good alternative for those with the MOST system.
Don't know how the Scosche unit works, but what I like about the iSimple unit is that it installs in-line with the factory antenna amp and disconnects it when Bluetooth is enabled. Dension makes a similar unit.

Steve
a4gen2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:35 PM   #108
texcwa
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
texcwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Jackson, CA
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4gen2 View Post
Don't know how the Scosche unit works, but what I like about the iSimple unit is that it installs in-line with the factory antenna amp and disconnects it when Bluetooth is enabled. Dension makes a similar unit.

Steve
The Scosche is also an inline with factory antenna but has a toggle switch that switches off the FM antenna signal so as to pass through the new source signal to radio (this eliminates any FM interference). It is set up to use a mini plug from source (phone. I pad, ect) only so this is why I use in conjunction with the Bluetooth kit so that I have both Bluetooth and the mini plug.
texcwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:50 PM   #109
a4gen2
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texcwa View Post
The Scosche is also an inline with factory antenna but has a toggle switch that switches off the FM antenna signal so as to pass through the new source signal to radio (this eliminates any FM interference). It is set up to use a mini plug from source (phone. I pad, ect) only so this is why I use in conjunction with the Bluetooth kit so that I have both Bluetooth and the mini plug.
Got it.

I had a mini-plug I routed to the glove box of my A4 with a Parrot BT kit, but found I always connected via BT and never used the plug, so not having one with the Tranzit box wasn't a problem for me.

Steve
a4gen2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 10:38 PM   #110
clubracer6
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
clubracer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dundee, IL (Chicago)
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCA58 View Post
If your talking about the ACC wire, it goes to the orange wire on the ignition switch, be sure to add a fuse holder with a 5 amp fuse to it close to the ignition switch, this will allow the head unit to stay on till key is removed. If your talking about the Alpine head unit power wire (yellow) there is a live 12 volt wire at the radio connection, I didn't pay attention to that because I used CAI harness plug and play harness they make, bought the kit for 45 dollars which included the antenna adapter also. plus no cutting into the P-car harness. https://cai-store.com/collections/al...ant=3737574725
Looks like this is all you need now,right??
clubracer6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 06:30 PM   #111
dblvanos
User
 
dblvanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Central WV
Posts: 70
Default

I ordered the most adaptor, it showed up about ten days after I ordered.

Today got around to doing the instal, anyone else get a "pop" through the speakers when you turn car off and remove key from the ignition?
dblvanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:33 PM   #112
dblvanos
User
 
dblvanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Central WV
Posts: 70
Default

Another question.

I hooked the metra harness up without connecting the powered speaker lines from the head unit to the metra harness going to the car. From what others have said the MOST lines are carrying the singnal to the amp.

However I realize some of you are using the CAI harness, and assume from the pictures I have seen online that they have connected the powered lines from the head unit to the metra harness to the car.

Any reason I should connect the powered head unit lines in addition to the MOST converter?

I'll be free later tonight to try both ways, just wondering if anyone else has already ventured down this?
dblvanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 07:59 AM   #113
Turbojamie
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 544
Default

Don't use the harness ground, ground everything to one of the 10mm module bolts down at the bottom of the stack.
Turbojamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 03:44 PM   #114
mrzoop
deviated
Rennlist Member
 
mrzoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: raleigh - cary - wilmington
Posts: 187
Default

'03 C4S - I took the plunge and ordered one of the digital to analog MOST translator boxes from China. I do not have the Bose system and absolutely could not stand the output of the CDR23. I figured the worst that could happen is that it would not work and I'd have to build everything from scratch, anyway. Surprise! After a few weeks the box arrived. I got in touch with Rod at CAI to discuss my options. I was looking for multiple rear USB ports and chose the single Din Kenwood X701, though the Alpine was a close second. After speaking with Rod, he suggested that I send him the mystery box and he'd configure a custom wiring harness. Holy smokes, I jumped at the chance. After a week or two, everything arrived and was ready for installation. I also purchased one of the $20 MEGA interior removal tool sets from amazon. The initial installation had a few stumbles along the way. All of the issues that I had were my own dumb fault, as I mis-wired one of the lines out of the box. The system worked fine for about an hour, then nothing. Of course I had to de-install the new stuff and reinstall the original HU to test what blew. The original stuff worked fine. Then spent the night doing more research and found the solution. There's an unused phone connector in the bottom of the center column just under the cubby box (4 wires with female plug). The female plug has a green/blk (switched) wire that is the perfect solution for the spare wire (of the three) coming out of the Chinese Most box. The third installation took about an hour and WOW it's impressive and worth the small expense. Keep in mind, that I'm using the original speakers so nothing state of the art here. But it does CRANK and sounds about 50% better than the original system. Sound quality is below average by any modern standard, but it's passable and for less than $400 I get modern connectivity and pretty good sound. Really, just what I was looking for. Thanks to Rod from CAI, this was as close to a simple plug and go as I could hope to find.


Green/Blk wire in Phone plug






MOST interface box wrapped in anti-rattle.



9191

Last edited by mrzoop; 04-20-2017 at 05:36 PM.
mrzoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 04:17 PM   #115
Luch
User
 
Luch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Northwest Suburb of Chicago
Posts: 57
Default

MrZoop, thanks for the pictures and great explanation. That helps me when I finally get started...just thinking up of what type of receiver for the double DIN route.

Chris
Luch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 10:03 AM   #116
Perpixel
New User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Did anyone do this in a 987 Cayman?

I ran a ACC 12v cable from my fuse box to the console then connected the B+ and Ground to the headunit harness. (did try to ground on a 10mm bolt too)

Problem is now if I touch the RCA connector with my finger I can hear noise from the speaker and just trying to plug my phone in make a loud bang in the speaker.

Feel like the signal sent from the device is way to strong. So really concern its going to blow up something...

thanks
Perpixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple BOSE + MOST (fiber optic) Audio upgrade, who did it ? philooo 996 Forum 12 04-19-2017 04:36 PM
Need help with wiring Autoleads harness for 03+ MOST bypass vogz 996 Forum 0 06-13-2016 05:04 PM
Fiber Optic Return Line question **9" head unit install pics** Rampino Porsche Cayenne Forum 15 12-02-2015 09:45 AM
2000 996 Stereo Upgrade Questions JonathanEngr 996 Forum 12 09-24-2014 10:35 AM
Dension install in 996 Turbo with CDR23 (complete step-by-step with pics) LVDell 996 Forum 36 05-22-2012 12:30 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send