Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Is it possible not to vent the AOS to the intake?

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2012, 07:48 PM
csubtil
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it possible not to vent the AOS to the intake?

Hi forum,

Porsche newbie here, so maybe I am asking a stupid question...

AOS venting oily vapors back to the intake and the potential risk of a bad AOS throwing oil into it, doesn't really seem a nice solution...

Isn't possible to keep the AOS but disconnect it from the intake and reroute its venting to the atmosphere? Using a small filter on the tip of the venting pipe to avoid any unfiltered air being sucked.

I know it's not nice to the environment but I am just questioning if it's technically viable or if it will harm the Engine.

Can someone post a pic of where exactly is the AOS connected to the intake?

If what I am suggesting is possible, has anyone in the forum done it?

Is the AOS basically a crank case breather?

I was thinking of something like this

Thanks.
CS

Last edited by csubtil; 12-19-2012 at 06:18 AM.
Old 12-18-2012, 08:52 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 254 Likes on 224 Posts

Originally Posted by csubtil
Hi forum,

Porsche newbie here, so maybe I am asking a stupid question...

AOS venting oily vapors back to the intake and the potential risk of a bad AOS throwing oil into it, doesn't really seem a nice solution...

Isn't possible to keep the AOS but disconnect it from the intake and reroute its venting to the atmosphere? Using a small filter on the tip of the venting pipe to avoid any unfiltered air being sucked.

I know it's not nice to the environment but I am just questioning if it's technically viable or if it will harm the Engine.

Can someone post a pic of where exactly is the AOS connected to the intake?

If what I am suggesting is possible, has anyone in the forum done it?

Is the AOS basically a crank case breather?

I was thinking of something likethis

Thanks.
CS