Sponsored by:

Please help me interpret this oil analysis

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2023, 10:03 PM
mrtrodonet
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help me interpret this oil analysis

I'm new to 996 ownership and after reading everything that can happen to a 996 motor, I'm very paranoid about my engine falling into pieces.

So i have learned there is a thing called oil analysis!

I did one, but apparently, not all tests are equal and 996 is special so I needed to do it in a different place...

So if there is someone with experience interpreting these numbers for 996, please let me know what we have here.

Doing it primarily for IMS I guess..
I bought the car from a used car lot and the owner had no idea what IMS was and had no service records. He then supposedly reached out to the previous owner and confirmed that it was done, but no records of when with what part or anything else. The guy was nice and seemed honest, but I take it with a grain of salt anyway.
The car is in perfect condition otherwise. Well taken care of.

79000k miles, 5w-40 synthetic unknown oil. ran for ~4300 i guestimate. Added 2 quarts of oil during this time.
Car was smoking on startups sometimes. I replaced AOS with an oil change. No smoke noticed on startups so far (15 or so)

If you know an article where each of these numbers are explained with values within the norm, please post it here so I learn too.

Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
Sample_Results.PDF (838.9 KB, 55 views)

Last edited by mrtrodonet; 10-24-2023 at 02:38 AM.
Old 10-23-2023, 10:24 PM
Eric Kessel
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 32 Posts

Maybe remove your home address from the pdf?

-Eric
Old 10-23-2023, 10:53 PM
binaryaudax
Rennlist Member

Received 200 Likes on 95 Posts

Take a look at Lake Speed Jr's explanation at SPEEDiagnostix: https://www.speediagnostix.com/reading-the-report

The following users liked this post:
mrtrodonet (10-24-2023)
Old 10-24-2023, 08:14 AM
RWPinNC