Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Looking for my first 911, had a few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2020, 02:25 PM
plpete84
Drifting

Received 1,830 Likes on 925 Posts
Default Looking for my first 911, had a few questions...

Hey everyone - long time lurker and gear head here that's looking to possibly get himself into his 1st Porsche. I've read through much of the site and had a few things to run by some of the more experienced folks on here.

Some background first... I've been working on cars since before I could drive them and although I'm not a mechanic I've done an engine swap on a CB7 Accord, timing belt on an Audi A4, brake jobs and other stuff in between. I've also been driving manual all my life. About a year ago I needed to sell my A4 and get something newer and more reliable that will have a decent resale value - ended up in a 2014 Lexus GS350 RWD with the F-Sport package and Mark Levinson Audio. The car has great options and is fantastic but with Covid here I don't drive too much any more and damn it, I miss having a manual. In the past I've driven a manual 997 base convertible, a 991 CS with PDK and recently I've been fortunate to have an opportunity to babysit a 2003 996 C4S, also a manual and was told to enjoy the car as it needs to be driven. I've had a chance to put on about 1500 miles on it and really got to know the car....well and now I kind of really want one hah. Some thoughts as I start to search...

- The IMS seems to be the thing everyone talks about. My understanding is that it's a wise preventative measure but it's not something that every 996 deals with. Higher mileage seem to be less prone to failure. I guess the benefit of the 996 is that the IMS is more easily serviceable than the 997.1 where it's actually in the motor?.