Sponsored by:

Installing turbo engine in to 996 c2

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2017, 08:23 PM
robflying
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Installing turbo engine in to 996 c2

I'm a gear head, been a gear head all my adult life. New to water cool Porsches, But I did own a 71' model S fun car. Been modding many different car. Just purchased a 2003 996 that had a 3.6 normally aspirated engine. Lady luck is on my side and I was able to purchase a good 3.6 turbo engine. The question is this. I don't see why, maybe someone can explain. can the regular ECU be mapped to work with the turbo engine. I see it as a tuning thing but not being an expert, I rather check on the subject. Tried doing searches but nothing found. Maybe this is the first ever.
Old 12-31-2017, 08:28 PM
Paul Waterloo
Rennlist Member

Received 223 Likes on 144 Posts

How do you map a NA engine ECU to a turbo set up? It doesn't know what the boost is, it can't rely on the O2 sensors...it will be too late.

It would be so much easier and cheaper to buy a 996 turbo. Or buy the one supercharger kit for your NA motor.

Happy New Year!
Old 12-31-2017, 08:47 PM
robflying
Advanced

Okay so let me understand. So TCP racing or vivid racing use a different ECU for their turbo kits? Maybe it does but I don't think so. Its mass air mapping, curve timing, ignition curving regardless of the turbos. There isn't any harness going to the turbos as far I can tell. With any other engine I've ever seen curving of the computer call tuning. is done via a laptop.
Old 12-31-2017, 09:11 PM
Paul Waterloo
Rennlist Member

Received 223 Likes on 144 Posts

How are you going to measure boost and insert it into the ECU? I do have a 944 turbo, and I have a piggy back fueling system.....it not only looks at everything a normally aspirated engine does, but it also looks and boost and has a map for it. Here is a picture of the piggy back map....it was writing to the ECU after I changed values based on my air fuel ratios.