Notices

993tt all single plug? I bought a dual plug 993tt.

 
Old 09-04-2014, 10:16 PM
  #46  
tacker
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
tacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 301
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Shouldn't be that lumpy. Many similar builds out there. When are taking it a shop? Do you have wiring schematics of the AEM connection? Who was the last to tune it?do they have any info
tacker is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 10:25 AM
  #47  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah you guys are right when you are telling me to wait to bring it to protomotive. I may just do that. I don't have any schematics of AEM, it was never tuned just installed. I want it done right and waiting is the only way. Has a rear main seal leak I think and that needs to be done asap. Ill just drop the motor and do anything that needs to be done to make it perfect.
ferraribuyer is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 01:53 PM
  #48  
carmstrongls1
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
carmstrongls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston Texas Area
Posts: 383
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ferraribuyer View Post
Yeah you guys are right when you are telling me to wait to bring it to protomotive. I may just do that. I don't have any schematics of AEM, it was never tuned just installed. I want it done right and waiting is the only way. Has a rear main seal leak I think and that needs to be done asap. Ill just drop the motor and do anything that needs to be done to make it perfect.
A decision that you won't regret. Promise.
carmstrongls1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:42 PM
  #49  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

cool cars of the 90s, It stinks I can't drive the 993 I want to so bad!

Last edited by ferraribuyer; 09-22-2014 at 11:02 AM.
ferraribuyer is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 02:09 AM
  #50  
Basal Skull
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Basal Skull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 2,823
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

^ nice!
Basal Skull is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:41 PM
  #51  
DM993tt
User
 
DM993tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,428
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If Rich Jacksic did the machine work - it is perfect. The fact that it is motec and and not Porsche Motronic, tuning it shouldn't be all that difficult. I would reach out to Geoffrey Ring ([email protected] , RL'er) who is an expert on tuning with Motronic and can at least steer you in the right direction. Also, Joel Reiser (out of Rochester, PCA tech for 993's, has a GT2 with Motronic he's been developing for years also knows these things inside and out and might offer some help). Don't get discouraged too quickly. PO spent tons on this thing and built it with all the right bits. Tuned properly it should be a rocket ship.

Last edited by DM993tt; 09-11-2014 at 04:58 PM.
DM993tt is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 09:37 PM
  #52  
myturbo36
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Anyone notice the number of EFI setups in the build sheets...first Electromotive, then Haltech, then Motec and finally AEM...wow
myturbo36 is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 10:04 AM
  #53  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by myturbo36 View Post
Anyone notice the number of EFI setups in the build sheets...first Electromotive, then Haltech, then Motec and finally AEM...wow
Thats the first thing I noticed too. Why so many ecu's? I hoping AEM with the VE tuning will be the one that works! I have a guy from AEM coming to the house hopefully this week to plug in the computer and see how the AEM infinity is set up. Next week I will have the RMS fixed and drop the motor to see if it needs any other seals. Thanks guys for all the info and help.
ferraribuyer is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 11:51 PM
  #54  
tcsracing1
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
tcsracing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere in a galaxy far, far away....
Posts: 16,334
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

this is typically why modified cars sell for less....
Sounds like if you get this thing running right it will be monster!
tcsracing1 is offline  
Old 09-24-2014, 07:02 PM
  #55  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any advice on going ahead and tuning for E85? I think that would be best for the car but not sure about bad effects from e85? I have high flow injectors but maybe the pump will need upgrading to complete e85 tune?
ferraribuyer is offline  
Old 09-24-2014, 07:11 PM
  #56  
Slate993tt
User
 
Slate993tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

availability of E85 local to you. in Cali it's not practical as I don't even know where to get it. For Forced induction cars I've heard terrific things about E85 since it's octane rating is so high. I want to say Rennlister TACKER in Texas may be running E85 or had some experience with it. I may be pulling that out of my *** and so apologize if I am wrong.

Remind us again what pump(s) are on your car. any good tuner that knows how to tune with E85 should be able to guide you with how much flow is needed for the HP levels of that beast.
Slate993tt is offline  
Old 09-25-2014, 09:20 AM
  #57  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Not sure on the fuel pump, I think stock still? But E85 is available everywhere in MN so I was thinking why not. The tuner said you can get like 70 more HP with it.
ferraribuyer is offline  
Old 09-25-2014, 10:40 AM
  #58  
993Godspeed
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
993Godspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC & S FL
Posts: 732
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think you should first try to get it running properly and diagnose any issues before switching fuel and what not. Just my .02

E85 is a great fuel and someday will covnert.
993Godspeed is offline  
Old 09-25-2014, 09:36 PM
  #59  
JDHertz11
Super User
 
JDHertz11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miamah, La Florida
Posts: 4,593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 993Godspeed View Post
I think you should first try to get it running properly and diagnose any issues before switching fuel and what not.
Quote of the day considering all the other issues the OP has highlighted over the last few weeks. Fix it first then worry about the rest.
JDHertz11 is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 05:43 PM
  #60  
ferraribuyer
User
Thread Starter
 
ferraribuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wayzata, MN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UPDATE kind of

So the cars been up at the tuners for months now and they do not know what they are doing. The wiring was all checked, new map sensor, pressure tested to 15 psi no leaks. The AEM infinity ecu they say needs to have a cam position sensor to be able to run and tune the engine. There are no cam sensors on these 911s and is seem the crank sensor is giving the ecu both cam and crank positions but I don't know how and they certainly don't either. Does anyone have knowledge on how to get the ecu to read cam position? Are there crank wheels that are needed for this application that are special? Any help would be awesome!
ferraribuyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 993tt all single plug? I bought a dual plug 993tt.


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: