On the Track in my 3.8L today (long)

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 04:23 PM
C.J. Ichiban
Platinum Dealership
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 2,062 Likes on 581 Posts
Default On the Track in my 3.8L today (long)

Let me start by saying I love all 911's with the exception of the 1999 carrera and it's egg shaped headlights.

okay- secondly, I'm not a pro, or experienced, or crazy enough to drive 10/10ths in any of my cars yet. I've not been formally trained other than 2 day long sessions with one instructor, on the track- once in my 993 and another time in my gt3 last week. So I am in fact, not the fastest guy on the track other than certain sections because of my hp advantage.

Last- this is a pretty long entry but involves no photos yet.

Recently I took euro delivery of my new 2008 997 GT3. I love it, great steering, amazingly confident brakes, super tight shifting action with hand and foot. Vacation of a lifetime, for me- 4000 km solo across europe in two weeks. I tracked the car 4 days ago in italy.

The downside of this is that I've gone over a month without driving my 993TT - vacation. The day after I got back, hopped in the 993 and went to the track...motorsport ranch in texas (fairly simple 3.1 mile loop) and promptly had an unbelievable time. Not too many people out, and 70*F air temps (sorry northeast guys).

The session was cut a bit short because some guy in his 2003 Turbo spun and broke his radiator, and decided like a noob to drive another lap which of course spilled coolant everywhere and shut us down for about an hour. but I got to hang out with some buddies in their 996 gt3's and shoot the breeze, ask questions about their slick tires and ceramic brakes and track alignments.