Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Rubber Bump Stop Bushings, Front Struts, necessary no?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2011, 02:18 AM
mrsystems
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Rubber Bump Stop Bushings, Front Struts, necessary no?

I'm curious if anyone out there knows how important it is to have my front struts rubber bump stop bushings in good shape? I am not the type that likes to let the car go without anything, ever, but i'm wondering are these needed for only severely bad roads that really jam the shocks or if i'm traveling around town and not hitting the bumps fast can i go without them for a while? Every 993 i've owned has needed these, they are rubber so of course they break down over time but well there it is, thats my question. I've never heard the car bottom out or make any terrible sound that leads me to believe these are more of a precautionary item but i'm not a mechanic and could be dead wrong? Thanks.
Old 04-27-2011, 01:30 PM
Stealth 993
Nordschleife Master

Received 208 Likes on 126 Posts

You are talking about the round foam piece that is on the shock piston? They should be protected by the dust cover, & really should last a very, very long time. I would say, if you are not swapping out shocks, to not worry about them.

With stock shocks, you should never really hit the bump stops unless you hit a huge bump, or go to fast over bumps. I just swapped out my US M030 kit for ROW M030 my bump stocks looked brand new. Were just swapped over to the new shocks.

What makes you think yours need to be replaced? Chances are your shocks are blown, not the bump stops.
Old 04-27-2011, 05:53 PM
mrsystems
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hey Mike no not foam definitely rubber here's a link to see the part: