Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2011, 06:47 AM
Halcyon
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Comparative Ownership Cost?

Hi

Read through quite a bit of u guyz's posts, but this is my first time posting

I currently drives a 05' Cayenne v6. As some of you might say that the Cayenne is not an accurate representation of what a real Porsche can do. But as underpowered as it is, I can't say that I dont like it. In fact, it feels quite nice, looks quite nice ( made sure i had the colored bottom trim instead of the not so good looking black plastic trim) . so i fell in love with porsche

anyway, in seek of pure-er porsche-ness
993 coupe is what caught my eyes out of all the models ( including the ones that i couldn't afford xD) it is what i believe to be the porsche-est of all porsche. and as i've seen some of you guys say, in a more dramatic way, 993 IS the last porsche ever made
I'm currently looking around for a ~$18-25k car to drive around maybe 3 or 4 times a week and maybe a trip between SF and LA once every couple months. And most important of all, it gotta be tiptronic. ( yes ...yes... i know... i know i should learn manual... blah blah xD but, LA traffic !!! and SF hills! ) And I've seen several 993 in that range in California. I'm aware that those in that price range are 100k+ miles .

so with that much miles, i learned from you guys that it would NEED a top end rebuilt which cost couple grand right? it is not a matter of IF, but rather, WHEN. so I assume that cost is unavoidable right? unless i find one that is already rebuilt?

and then from reading you guys post, other than the top end rebuilt ( thats the valve thing right?) you guys average $1k on maintenance a year.

assuming i can find one that is relatively clean ( in terms of title/ no crazy repair issues ) but low price just because it has high milege...

lets say i will keep this car for 5 years. lets say i bought it for $25k